OGEO FUND presents the results of the opinion survey on pensions in Belgium

News
09 July 2015

With its trademark proactive approach, OGEO FUND seeks to contribute to the knowledge and awareness about pensions required for socio-political debates in Belgium. This led to EGEO FUND commissioning for the second consecutive year an opinion survey on pensions in Belgium. IPSOS conducted this online survey using a representative sample of 1,065 people of the population aged 25 to 70 years.

In addition to the comparison of the 2014 results, this year’s OGEO FUND-IPSOS survey includes specific questions relating to the Federal Government proposals on pension reform.

Some significant facts:

Retirement

  • While, last year, 44% of the Belgian population were planning to retire at 65, Belgium’s current legal retirement age, only 34% consider to do so now. Moreover, 23% think to make the final leap after 65 (compared to 7% in 2014) and 43% before 65 (compared to 49% in 2014).
  • The main factor that could encourage non-retirees to retire later than planned would be, same as in 2014, to cumulate a part-time job and retirement without any tax penalty (59%).

Preparing for retirement

  • Only 17% of non-retirees feel being sufficiently informed about their pensions (compared to 22% in 2014). Moreover, only 27% believe that their pension will be enough to maintain a decent standard of living (compared to 32% in 2014).
  • Less than half of non-retirees benefit from a supplementary retirement scheme proposed by their employer (45%), compared to 39% in 2014.

Future of retirement

  • 8 out of 10 Belgians are of the opinion that the public authorities must prioritise ensuring an adequate pension funding.
  • 78% declare to be in favour of a harmonization of public/private/independent pension schemes. This view is more shared by private sector employees (85% compared to 80% in 2014) than by those working in the public sector (55% compared to 58% in 2014).

Pension reform

  • Only 39% of non-retirees agree to increase the legal retirement age to 66 (in 2025) en to 67 (in 2030).
  • More than 3 out of 4 Belgians (76%) wish drudgery of work to be taken into account in the pension calculation system.

If you wish to be obtain the results of this survey, please click here.

OGEO FUND présente les résultats de l'enquête d'opinion sur les retraites en Belgique

News
09 Juillet 2015

Fidèle à sa démarche volontariste, OGEO FUND souhaite contribuer à l’approfondissement des connaissances et aux débats de société sur les pensions en Belgique. C’est dans cette optique qu’OGEO FUND a commandité pour la deuxième année consécutive une enquête d’opinion sur les retraites en Belgique auprès de l’institut de sondage IPSOS. Cette enquête a été menée auprès d’un échantillon représentatif de 1.065 personnes de la population, âgées entre 25 et 70 ans.

Au-delà de la comparaison avec les résultats de 2014, l’enquête OGEO FUND-IPSOS intègre également cette année des questions spécifiques relatives aux propositions du Gouvernement fédéral sur la réforme des pensions.

Quelques faits significatifs :

Partir à la retraite

  • Alors que, l’année dernière, 44% des Belges prévoyaient de prendre leur retraite à 65 ans, âge légal actuel, ils ne sont désormais plus que 34% à l’envisager. Par ailleurs, ils sont 23% à penser franchir le pas après 65 ans (contre 7% en 2014) et 43% avant 65 ans (contre 49% en 2014).
     
  • Le principal facteur qui pourrait inciter les non-retraités à prendre leur retraite plus tard que prévu serait, tout comme en 2014, de pouvoir cumuler travail à temps partiel et retraite, sans pénalisation fiscale (59%).

Préparer son départ à la retraite

  • Seuls 17% des non-retraités se sentent suffisamment informés sur leur pension (contre 22% en 2014). Ils ne sont par ailleurs que 27% à penser que leur pension sera suffisante pour maintenir un niveau de vie satisfaisant (contre 32% en 2014).
     
  • Moins de la moitié des non-retraités bénéficient d’un plan de pension complémentaire auprès de leur employeur (45%), contre 39% en 2014.

L’avenir des retraites

  • 8 Belges sur 10 estiment que les autorités publiques devraient en priorité assurer un financement adéquat des retraites.
     
  • En outre, ils sont 78% à se déclarer en faveur de l’harmonisation des régimes de pension public/privé/indépendant. Cet avis est davantage partagé par les employés du secteur privé (85% contre 80% en 2014) que par ceux du secteur public (55% contre 58% en 2014).

La réforme des pensions

  • Seuls 39% des non-retraités sont d’accord pour l’augmentation de l’âge légal de la pension à 66 ans (en 2025) et à 67 ans (en 2030).
     
  • Plus de trois Belges sur quatre (76%) souhaitent que soit prise en compte la pénibilité du travail dans le système de calcul des pensions.

Vous souhaitez disposer des résultats de cette enquête ? Rendez-vous ici.